Cochran-Hansen Prize 2020

The 2020 competition for young statisticians from developing and transition countries will be open in the second semester of 2019. See information about the competition here.

Cochran-Hansen Prize

In celebration of its 25th anniversary in 1999, the International Association of Survey Statisticians (IASS) established the Cochran-Hansen Prize, which is awarded every two years for the best paper on survey research methods submitted by a young statistician from a developing or transition country. The Cochran-Hansen Prize consists of books and journal subscriptions in the value of EUR 500.

Report on the Cochran-Hansen Prize 2019

Participation in competition for the 2019 prize was restricted to young statisticians who were born in 1984 or later. The definition of the target countries was based on the list of countries adhered by the International Statistical Institute.

The prize was awarded to Diego Andrés Pérez Ruiz from Mexico for the paper Augmenting Probability-Based Surveys with Nonprobability Survey Information: A Bayesian Approach.

The prize winner presented his paper at the World Statistics Congress of the International Statistical Institute (ISI) held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 18-23 Aug 2019. The IASS provided the winner air ticket and per diem for participating in the WSC.

The 2019 prize committee consisted of Anders Holmberg from Statistics Norway (chair), Maiki Ilves from Statistics Estonia and Robert Clark from the Australian National University. It evaluated five candidate papers by young authors from The Philippines, Iran, India, Ethiopia and Mexico. The papers were original work written between February 15th, 2017 and February 15th, 2019.

The winning paper presents a novel method to integrate probability and nonprobability samples with Bayesian inference. The paper was published by the Journal of Official Statistics:  .

It was originally part of a grant proposal to the British Academy under the Leverhulme Small Research Grants scheme awarded to Dr Joseph Sakshaug and Dr Arkadiusz Wisniowski at the University of Manchester. A signed letter by them verified Diego’s considerable contribution.

For a report from Diego on his experience attending the 62nd ISI WSC visit The Survey Statistician, 81, January 2020 (page 8):

A picture of the winner in the award ceremony is available at the 9th September tweet:

Announcement for the 2019 Cochran-Hansen Prize competition: Open announcement in PDF[DBdNS1] 

Cochran-Hansen Prize Laureates 1999-2019

  • 2019: Diego Andres Perez Ruiz, Mexico
  • 2017: Girish Chandra, India
  • 2015: Santanu Pramanik, India and Kevin Carl Santos, Philippines
  • 2013: Emilio Lopez Escobar, Mexico
  • 2011: Solange Correa, Brazil
  • 2009: Hukum Chandra, India
  • 2007: Marcel de Toledo Vieira, Brazil
  • 2005: Maiki Ilves, Estonia
  • 2003: Krishna Mohan Palipudi, India
  • 2001: Kristiina Rajaleid, Estonia
  • 1999: Noor Muhammad Farid, Indonesia and Enal Pungas, Estonia